Sarah Barrow | Contributing Writer | Friday, 10 March 2017

Are Vegans Buying Wine That Isn\\\\\\\'t Really Vegan?

Vegan Wine Is A Thing

The Debrief: Because, newsflash: some of the things that go in our wine are definitely not vegan

Vegan living is on the rise and we have more info than ever on what exactly is in our food and drink. Now we are learning that not all wine is vegan and it isn’t just made up of grapes and alcohol. Fining agents are added and they are needed so the wines can help to get rid of proteins, yeasts and other molecules that would mean the wine would be cloudy without them.

But these fining agents are made up of non-vegan produce. PETA say the fining agents could include, ‘blood and bone marrow, casein (milk protein), chitin (fiber from crustacean shells), egg albumen (derived from egg whites), fish oil, gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts), and isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes).’ Lovely.

There are wines made that are made without fining agents and they are on the shelves, and they’re simple to find because labels usually advertise it as a selling point. It may take a little more time, a few more months, but wine will become less cloudy on its own and so it isn’t necessary needed to make a good wine. The reason why fining is used is to speed up the process, which means it can be put on the shelves quicker. 

There is a list of unfined wines here if you want to check before going to the shop. And you may want to go and check out the beer as well!

Like this? Then you might also be interested in:

Cheap, Easy And Healthy Lunch To Make To To Take To Work

The 7 Best Vegan Blogs To Bookmark Now

9 Things You Only Know If You're The Only Vegan In Your Friendship Group

 

Folllow Sarah on Twitter: @sarahbarrow