Jess Commons | Deputy Editor | Tuesday, 30 August 2016

Emma Cline\\\'s The Girls: Here\\\'s The Books Everyone\\\'s Reading After They Finish

Emma Cline's The Girls: Here Are The Books Everyone's Reading After They Finish

The Debrief: Finished the book of the summer? Here's what other people are reading next.

Did you zoom your way through the Book Of The Summer? ICYMI, it was Emma Cline's The Girls. Everyone and their dog has been reading it. And with good reason.

It's about Evie, a 14-year-old who, in the summer of 1969, gets caught up in a group loosely based on the real life Manson family and it's tough to read in parts and paints stunning but sinister portraits of hazy California days before descending into tragedy.

But, what to do when you've stormed through The Girls? Here's what other people are buying after they finished it up.

1. Girls On Fire

Written by Robyn Wasserman, Girls on Fire is about that special kind of bond that only teenage girls can have. Hannah (Dex) and Lacey are best friends and share, amongst other things, a mutual hatred of popular girl Nikki. As their friendship becomes more intense, so too do their feelings for Nikki.

Get Girls on Fire here.

2. Invincible Summer

Four friends, 20 years and a lifetime of stories.Following Benedict, Lucien, Sylvie and Benedict as they graduate from university, the book looks at what happens to the energy and dreams of the young as Real Life (boo) sets in. By Alice Adams.

Get Invincible Summer here.

3. Before The Fall

Everyone raves about this book. I got a couple of pages in and realised it all revolved around a plane crash. I have a phobia of flying and a long-distance flight coming up so sozza, I ditched it. Anyways - it's about a guy who gets on a family's private jet back from rich-people holiday destination Martha's Vineyard. The plane crashes, he survives. What happens in the aftermath is the focus.

Get Before The Fall here.

4. The Muse

The next offering from the wonderful Jessie Burton, the lady behind 2014's beautiful The Miniaturist. Set not in 1600's Amsterdam but rather in 1960's London, The Muse is about Odelle, a Trinidadian girl trying to make it in London. She gets a job at a gallery where the book diverges into the mysterious backstory of an exciting work of art.

Get The Muse here.

Sweetbitter

Written by Stephanie Danler, Sweetbitter is about Tess, a 22-year-old who moves to the big city to erm, do something. Whilst working at one of New York's fanciest restaurants she finds herself caught up in a triangle of love affairs set against the city's fast-paced restaurant scene.

Get Sweetbitter here

6. Maestra

The intelligent woman's 50 Shades. Written by Oxbridge historian Lisa Hilton, it's about a girl called Judith Rashleigh who worked in an auction house by day and a sleazy West End bar by night.  When she tries to steal money from a rich man, she ends up running for her life. Basically, imagine if Amy from Gone Girl replaced Anastasia from 50 Shades. Read our interview with Lisa here

Get Maestra here.

7. The Glorious Heresies

This book won the Baileys' Women's Prize for Fiction this year so, it's kind of a big deal. It's about a group of people living in the criminal underworld of the Irish city of Cork in a post-economic crash world. There's Ryan, the teenage drug dealer, Jimmy, one of the city's most terrifying gangsters, Georgie a prostitute and Maureen, Jimmy's mother. As the groups' lives cross, things disintegrate further.

Get The Glorious Heresies here

8. Hot Milk

About a daughter Sofia and her mother Rosie who take a trip to Spain not on a lovely holiday but rather to a clinic to try to fix Rosie who is confined to a wheelchair. The women have a suffocating relationship and it intoxicates them both. By Deborah Levy.

Get Hot Milk here

9) Ctrl, Alt; Delete: How I Grew Up Online

It's ex-Debrief and uber blogger Emma Gannon! Her book about growing up online (hello MSN Messenger) is funny, open, lovely and guaranteed to make you cringe as you recall yourself as a clueless teenager trying to operate as a grown-up.

Get Ctrl, Alt, Delete here.

10. Fates and Furies

One of the many books that was bequeathed the 'Next Gone Girl' honour by critics. Lauren Groff's Fates and Furies is, in a similar manner to Gone Girl, the story of a relationship told from both sides of a couple (Lotto and Mathilde Satterwhite - how's that for a couple of names?). It's brutal. And beautiful.

Get Fates and Furies here.

Like this? Then you might also be interested in:

7 Amazing Mystery Novels You Need To Listen To On Audible

The 5 Books You Need To Read This Summer

Nina Cosford Discusses Social Media, Believing In Yourself and Young Womanhood

Follow Jess on Twitter @Jess_Commons

Tags: books